The last weekend of January is the Hatsugama of the Asahikawa Branch of Tankokai. So I rode the train up with my teacher and classmates to attend. This sign was in front of the hotel announcing the chakai.
Sign
We arrived at the perfect time and thus hardly had time to place our coats and change our tabi in the machiai before we were called into the washitsu. The sweet served was of course hanabira mochi and the scroll in the tokonoma had a black ink depiction of Fujiyama.
After eat our sweets, we were led into the tearoom for koicha. The daisu was the Seishitsu Tsuma-kure Daisu 「青漆爪紅台子」 favoured by Sotan, with which I am very taken. Along with it was used a bamboo sometsuke kaigu set, and a Seto-ware chaire, which seemed to be greatly antique, but I couldn’t clearly hear its history. A rather unusual round Kirikiku kettle was used, surrounded by a ro frame makieed with pine trees, sand, and waves 「松浜波」. In the tokonoma was a beautiful white chinese-style hakuji(?) vase set with willow and a white camellia. The koicha served was the ever-classic Koyama-en’s Kiun. I felt the toriawase possessed a refined subtly of style, both soft and serious.
I didn’t bring my camera into the koicha seki, so I don’t have any pictures. Although actually, one person took two pictures during the temae, which was slightly shocking. I felt bad for that person’s teacher, for that sort of (admittably innocent) lack of manners reflects terribly bad on the teacher.
We then proceeded to the ryuurei seki, for which I fetched my camera.
The sweets were twisted jellies and firm shiro-an sort of sandwhich with a snake for this year’s eto drawn on it.
DSCN4235
In the tokonoma were yellow daffodils…
DSCN4237
…a snake kogo…
DSCN4239
…and the scroll, which reads 「日々新」”Everyday Anew”.
DSCN4238
The mizusashi
DSCN4241
The futaoki
DSCN4245
The natsume and tea bowls
DSCN4244
I also took a picture of the toriawase list, so if you are really curious about the dogu, ask me and I’ll translate it for you.
DSCN4240
After the chakai was over, we went to lunch at Seibu. I had a very delicious chestnut kamameshi.
栗釜飯
Finding we still have quite a bit of time before the next train, we wandered around the meibutsu foods faire that Seibu happened to be having. There were so many delicious foods and they were offering samples, but I felt so full I couldn’t bear to eat even a tiny bit more.
土佐文旦
Here you can see some women buying Tosa Buntan, a type of pomelo from Tosa. They looked delicious, but I ended up buying the also delicious, but probably less healthy Akafuku, a sort of sweet most famous at Ise. We also saw the ohina doll displays, but I took several pictures, so I’ll put them in another post.

