Entry Way Lint
Walking Down the Autumn Paved Path of Life
by MISONO Ayako

The other day, somehow or the other, a certain person about the same age as me and with the same sort of frank personality said, “My mother, you know, she can barely move anymore, but she still always picks up any lint or dust she finds on the tatami or in the toko.” And while she said this she laughed, “When a woman starts losing her eyesight, she becomes better at noticing lint. It’s so they can better bully their daughter-in-law: `You never clean the house properly!` When her eyesight becomes poor… well, it is restricted to only such people, but the only thing she can see well is lint, and it’s from that that mother-in-laws and daughters get into fights, you know.”
When I said, “My family, too, complains that I don’t pick up such trash,” my friend said, “Really!” in a happy tone,”It’s a way to bully the daughter-in-law?”
“Well, its because we were living seperately in Kansai and Tokyo. It wasn’t really a type of bullying, but at my house the rug spread out in the entry way was littered with lint.” It was because it was the first thing guests saw when visiting, but it just had white threads scattered all over it.
When I explained this, the other woman laughed and said, “That isn’t lint though; that is just because the worn out warp threads are showing through from the bottom.”
When I was still young, I went to Pakistan as my first overseas trip. There, being myself, I bought an absurdly expensive hand-woven rug. Somehow or the other, I still have that rug after over 50 years. The slightly dim entry way area was a good place for it. But that rug, along with myself, have been through quite a bit. So sometimes, I confess it looks tired.
However, the next day, I immediately did something dishonest. I went and coloured in the white bits with a black magic marker. The rug had black parts as a part of the pattern, so my deception was largely undetectable. With this, my entry rug became completely free of lint.
Ancient European tapestries and the like, mostly famous ones, do not forever have the same body as when they are made. Many countries have a type of art restoration shop where the threads sullied or broken with age are regularly replaced. Thus it becomes that largly none of the original threads are left.
This too is a form of new life. This Pakistan rug and I will stay here, growing old together, until this old house is torn down after my death. My own restoration techniques are a little on the rough side, but those who know my personality will probably give a laugh.

噌野綾子作家
人生の錦秋を歩く
玄関のごみ屑
先日、やはり私と同年くらいの、私と同じようなあけすけな性格の人と喋っていて、
「うちの母は、ほとんど動けなくなっても、よく畳や床の上のゴミをつまんで捨てていたわ」
と言ったら、とたんに笑い出した。
「視力がなくなりかけると、よくゴミが見えるようになるものなのよ。それでまた、お嫁さんを苛めるの。よく掃除をしないって。この頃、眼が薄くなって…なんて言う人に限って、よくゴミだけは見えるわね、って、そこでまた姑と嫁の喧嘩になるんだわ」
「私もうちの人がゴミを拾わない、って文句を言ったのよ」
と私が言うと、彼女は「あれ!」と嬉しそうな声を出した。
「嫁さんをそれで苛めたの?」
「うちは関西と東京で別居してますからね。苛めようがないんだけど、うちの玄関に敷いてある絨毯に始終ゴミがついていたのよ」
お客さまが、一番にごらんになるところだから、せめて白い糸屑が落ちているようなことだけはしないで、と私が言うと、お手伝いさんは笑いながら言った。
「あれはゴミではなくて、絨毯がすり切れて下の縦糸が出ているからなんです」
まだ若い時、私は初めての海外旅行でパキスタンに行き、その時、私にしては途方もなく高価な手織りの絨毯を買った。それが実に五十年以上もどうやらもっているのである。玄関が少しばかり薄暗い場所だというのも利点であった。しかし絨毯も私と共に念を取ったのだろう。時々そうして、疲れを告白するようになったと見える。
しかし私はその翌日すぐ狡いことをした。黒のマジックインクで、白い糸をのところをちょっと塗っておいたのである。絨毯の模様には黒い部分もあったので、私のごまかしはほとんどわからなかった。これでうちの玄関の絨毯には全くゴミが落ちなくなった。
古いヨーロッパのタペストリー(綴れ折り)などは、ほとんどの名作が、本体が作られた時のままではないという。各国にそうした芸術品の修復所があって、汚れ古びて切れた糸は常に取り替えているので、ほとんど元の糸はないまでになっているという。
それも新しい命の姿だ。私は私が死んで古い家を取り壊すまで、そのパキスタンの絨毯もそこにおいて、共に老いるつもりだ。私の修復の技術は少しお粗末だったけれど、私の性格を知る人は、それでまた笑ってくれるかもしれない。

