Because, really, who doesn`t want to join bosozoku?

Question:
Joining a bosouzoku (Yankee)
It’s not really that I am thinking I want to join a bousozoku or anything. I am only because I am a housewife. So I don’t to disparage or speak ill of bousouzoku. I just suddenly thought of this.
First, how do you join a bousouzoku? If straying from the right path (ie if becoming a yankee), do you naturally go to a place where bousouzoku gather and say, “I wanna join this family! Please let me join!”?
Then, what do you do when it is time to quit? Do you just say, “I want to start working, so I’m going to leave the family” or “I’m older now, so I am quiting”?
And also, until how old do people act as yankees? Are you a yankee just if you feel you are?
The reason I am asking this question is in the past I secretly yearned to be a delinquent. I wanted to leave the moral but painful everyday life of a complicated family. But I didn’t have the courage to…
Now, I regret than I didn’t try harder to stray when I could (the time when I could be mischievous). Because I sufficated the feeling of rebelliousness then, now I feel insecure. That’s why I don’t misunderstand the feelings of bousouzoku and yankees. They are people who want to care for and communicate with weaker people who are wounded in their hearts, I think.
Are there any former delinquents or bousouzoku here? I want to hear about your experiences.

Reply
In middle school and high school, my delinquent friends mainly joined bousouzoku through their relationship with other delinquent friends. Whether it is said or whether it is self asserted, bousouzoku isn’t the only situation in which one can express the same feelings. There are situations appropriate for delinquents thinking about the virtures of “Doing bad things; rebelling against the rules.” As for yearning to get together as bousouzoku with fellows who feel the same way, it is natural as a delinquent.
Well, delinquents are noticed by the yakuza (“ya-kou”). Because who knows if bousouzoku have a connection to (ie: are members of) the yakuza, there are rumours told and they are veiwed as “bad tempered guys”. Since “a manly temper and willingness”, rather than education or blood, are how one is promoted in the yakuza world, it is the most suitable world for delinquents. For that reason, the highly educated are rare in the yakuza world.
Even if you say here, “I want to become a yakuza”, first you will be refused as the gate. If you persist saying so, you have to endure learning as a “gate youngster.” During this, without any prospects, in other words a dangerous guy to shear with a gunshot, you are put in the front of the action where you might be killed or arrested.
Getting back on topic, bousouzoku are a type of people who naturally dislike a lifestyle of correctly following rules. Since they give off this sort of feeling, leaving them is rather difficult. You’ll be beaten. But as a woman (ladies) if you give birth to children or you have to work etc, it is comparitively easy to leave.
However, those who have a family can remember thier days as bousouzoku. There are fathers who are a part of “Old Car Society” and mothers (former “ladies”) who ride while cuddling their children in the back of the car.
“Old Car Society” protect the traffic lights by making a straight line with the bousouzoku. People say they are bousouzoku by appearance and clothing, but I insist they are different.

Original Poster:
Thank you. I see. It was through their friends when they were young. I suppose one it is a family of people who give recognition of oneself, who have the same circumstances.
“ya-kou” means yakuza, right? I didn’t know there was any connection between yankees and yakuza! Certainly I have wondered about how people join the yakuza. I don’t know anything about death in action and being arrested, but it seems like a painful experience. Frightening.
You were talking about “Old Car Societies”? During Golden Week at the service area there were yankee-like people with shakotan cars lined up taking memorial photographs(?)
The inner world of yankees is deep. I learned a lot. Thank you very much.

