Not vegetables, but made with local rice and served in school lunch!

Next we learn about how rice and vegetables are healthy.

Chapter 2: 5 Actions that can up our food self-sufficiency.

2-3: Let’s have meals with rice at it’s center and with plenty of vegetables.

Do you only eat meat and oily foods? Let’s try and look at healthy eating and food self-sufficiency.

Blue: Koku-san, tell everything you ate yesterday, please.
Koku: Um… for breakfast I had bread. For lunch I had a hamburger with my friend. For a snack I ate some cake… and for dinner, I had my favourite Spaghetti Neapolitian!
Blue: That is certainly an unbalanced diet.
Koku: I just ate it becuase it was delicious.
Kaka: All that food was rather oily. You get sick with that lifestyle. ★1
Koku: Wah, sickness is scary. Well, what sort of balanced eating habits are good?
Blue: You must eat a lot of rice and vegetables.
Kaka: Meals featuring rice and vegetables are the traditional Japanese style. In other words, the foods grown and eaten in Japan from days of yore have perfect nutritional balance! And it’s perfect that our food self-sufficiency will go up too!★2
Koku: I see. Japanese food is the best, isn’t it! OK. Today, unlike yesterday, I’m gonna eat lots of rice and vegetables!

★1 Lifestyle sicknesses are diseases that are caused by also eating an unbalanced diet and never exersizing, for example cancer and obesity and other serious illnesses.

★2 When we eat foods like rice and vegetables as the center of our meals with which we have a comparitivily high food self-sufficieny, foods produced with in the country will increase and we will up our food self-sufficiency.

Summary: Choosing foods from within the country, we can up our balanced meals and our food self-sufficiency!

