When Beginning to Practice Tea (Part2)

When someone doesn’t know anything, sometimes they make mistakes, offending the other person, and it is a very troubling thing. That guest, at “Help yourself” took the offered sweets, and drank for her self the made and offered tea, and went and returned. At the gate, I asked, “You watched tea; how was it?”
“How difficult it was. I didn’t understand a thing,” she said and tilting her head she went back home.I returned to the tearoom and my students were offended, “Teacher, that person was completely rude, wasn’t she!”
“She wasn’t being rude, she just didn’t know better.”
“Even saying she doesn’t know, at that age, she should know better about propiety”, they wouldn’t let their offense be abated.
“Teacher, I received my beginner’s license at the Culture Center and I would enter the classroom without any greeting. That person we saw before was very polite, when I reflect on my own things,” it was said.

About two months before, a new person came.
While it was said “It seems this person’s grandmother did tea, and so she probably had her guidance,” and she was about the same age as the guest that came today, I think.
That new person had brought a letter of introduction from a friend of mine and had written down her current occupation, her alma mater, and her birthplace.
Then, “I humbly inquiry about being bestowed guidance from the teacher. Might I probably receive permission to become a beginner?” she greeted. First, entering the tearoom, and being made tea, she exactly bowed and then drank. On the spot, I answered, “If I am alright to you, please you are welcomed.”
Then, that person gave a deep bow with both hands, “Thank you very much. I am very glad.”
I, having seen how the woman moved to partake of the tea felt she had learned tea until now.
“How much have you done tea?” I queried.
She said, “I learned from my grandmother, but I haven’t even received the license for usucha.”
That day, entering among the students to practice usucha hirademae, her temae making tea was solid without fail.
I drank that tea, and she said, “I am happy that teacher has partaken,” with a such a happy face.
I said, “It was very delicious tea. It was made from the heart,” and I was happy too.

ものを知らぬということは、時として礼を失し、相手を怒らせ、困らせることがある。
その客は「どうぞ」とすすめた菓子を手づかみし、点て出した茶碗のお茶おかぶのみして、帰って行った。
門まで送った私が、「お茶を見ていかがでしたが」と聞くと、
「何だかむずかしくて、なぁんにもわかりません」といって、首をかしげながら帰って行った。
私が茶室にもどると、弟子たちが、「先生、あの人すいぶん失礼な人ですね」と怒っている。
「怒ることはないのよ、知らないのだから」
「知らないといっても、あの年ですもの、お礼くらいいわなくちゃ」と怒りが静まらない。
「先生、私はカルチャーセンターで入門させていただいたので、何のご挨拶もせずに教室に入れていただきましたが、この前、見えた方はずいぶん丁寧で、私、自分のこと反省しました」という。

この二ヵ月ほど前、入門してきた人がいる。
「あの方は祖母さまが、お茶をなさっていらっしゃったそうで、そのご指導があったのでしょうね」といいながら、今日来た客と同じ年頃なのに、と思う。
その入門なさった方は、私の友人の紹介状を持ち、自分の出生地、出身校、現在の職業を書いたものを持って来た。そうして、
*「先生にご指導いただきたく、お伺いいたしました。入門をお許しいただけますでしょうか」
と挨拶した。まず、茶室に上っていただいて、お茶をふるまうと、きちっと一礼してから召し上がった。 私も即座に、
*「私でよろしければ、どうぞおいでください」
と答えた。すると、その方は、
*「ありがとうございます、うれしゅうございます」
と両手をついて深い一礼をされた。私は彼女がお茶を召し上がった動きを見て、今までお茶を習っていたのだと感じ、
*「お茶はどこまでなさっていらっしゃるのですか」
と、お尋ねすると、
*「祖母に習っておりましたが、薄茶だけでお許状はいただいておりません」
という。その日、弟子たちの中に入って薄茶平点前を稽古したが、きっちりと基本をふまえたお点前であった。私がそのお茶をいただくと、
*「先生に召し上がっていただいてうれしゅうございます」
といかにもうれしげな顔をした。
*「とてもおいしいお茶でしたよ、心がこもっていましたね」
という私もうれしかった。

