A Collection of Tearoom Conversation: Words of the Host, Words of the Guest
by Mita Tomiko

Beginner: When Beginning to Practice Tea (Part 1)
Going to Meet the Teacher

May. In the tearoom, the hearth had become the brazier.On a morning when a fresh breeze was blowing, when I was cutting the flowers, there was a person I had never seen before.Suddenly opening the gate’s door, she said, “Hello” and entered. I thought perhaps she was a person selling something.
“Um… I heard this was a house where tea is learned and I was wondering if I could see a tea ceremony…” she said. She looked about 22 or 23 years old. She approuched me unannounced and looking at the flowers in my hand, and with an unusual gaze asked, “What flower is that?”
I, just a little shocked, looked at that face and said, “It’s a miyakowasure. Who are you? Are you from around here?”
Thereupon she said suprised, “Yes, I am Kosugi. I thought I would like to see what tea is like.”
“You would just like to watch?”
“Will watching not do?”
“If you only watch, it is studying by observation,” I said and tilted my head.
Then, two of students entered. “Teacher, good morning!” the two politely greeted me.
“Honored guest, welcome!” they also bowed to the woman. “Teacher, is it fine if we enter?”
“Please enter and make the preparations. This person said she would like to see a ceremony, so usucha hiratemae…” I said, and the students stopping in the entrance of the mizuya,
“Yes, with all our hearts,” and with a bow went and entered.
The woman guest, with an gaping expression, seeing off that appearence was amazed, “Tea is so difficult, isn’t it.” She said.
Greeting with a bow is difficult to listen one by one. Looking at the woman’s face, I said, “Not at all. For people it is a natural greeting. We are kindly giving a natural bow. Because I must put in the flowers, I must go inside. So you too please enter the tearoom,” I said, and entered the mizuya.
My students saw this, and straightaway came out. “Please, come this way,” they said and invited her into the tearoom’s entrance.
This guest said, “Is it alright to simply enter? I don’t know even a thing.”
“Please enter, and take your seat,” and my circle’s students advanced.
The okashi were brought in. One of my young students gave a bow, “Please, help yourself.”
Having put in the flowers, I turned to the guest, “Since the ceremony will start, please observe,” I said and turned to the temaeza. The usucha ceremony started. The guest was silent. Soon tea had been made.
“Did you enjoy the sweets?” I asked. She had said only watch, but on enquiring I thought she wondered how tea was, “I would like to drink tea, but I don’t know how.” My students are alright with not drinking the tea wchi was made wholeheartedly for the sake of people who would like to drink tea, so I said, “Well then, I will drink. Please observe.” And took the cup in my hand.

茶席の会話集:亭主の言葉、客の言葉
三田富子

入門.お茶の稽古をはじめるとき
師との出会い

五月、茶室は炉から風炉になった。さわやかな風が吹く朝、庭で花を切っていると、一人の見知らぬ客があった。いきなり門の扉を開けて、「こんにちわ」と入って来た。何かもを売る人が来たのかと思っていると、
「あのう、お茶をやってる家と聞いたのでお茶の点前を見せてもらいたいたいと思って…」という。 年の頃、二十二か三と見える。遠慮なく私に近づいてきて、手の花を見ると、珍しげに眺めて、「何の花?」と聞く。
私は少々あきれて、その顔をみながら、「都忘れですよ、あなたはどなた、こちらのお方ですか」と聞いた。
すると、「ええっ」とおどろいて、「私、小杉です。お茶ってどんなか見てみたいと思って」
「お茶を見るだけですか」
「見ちゃいけないんですか」
「見るだけなら、見学ですね」というと、首をかしげている。
そこへ、稽古の人が二人入って来た。「先生、おはようございます」と、二人そろって丁寧にお辞儀をする。
「お客さま、いらっしゃいませ」と、その女性にも一礼。「先生、入れていただいてよろしゅうございますか」
「どうぞお入りになってお支度してください。このお方が点前を見たいとおっしゃるので、薄茶平点前を」というと、弟子は水屋の出入り口で立ち止って、
「はい、かしこまりました。」と一礼して入って行った。
客の女性は、ぽかんとした顔で、その姿を見送り、あきれたように、「お茶ってむずかしいんですね」という。
一礼して挨拶をし、一つ一つ聞くことをむずかしい、という。私は、その女性の顔を見ながら、「そんなことありませんよ、人として当然の挨拶をし、当然の礼をつくしているのです」といって、「花を入れますので、私は中へ入りますから、あなたもお茶室へお入りください」といって、水屋に入った。
弟子がそれを見ていて、すぐに出てくると、「どうぞ、こちらから」と、茶室の入り口にいざなう。
その客は、「ただ上ったいいんですか、何だかちっともわからなくて」といっている。
「どうぞお入りいただいて、お席へ」と社中の者はすすめている。
おかしがはこばれた。若い社中の一人が、「どうぞ、お召し上がりくださいませ」と一礼している。
わたしは花を入れて、客のほうに向き、「お点前をはじめますから、ご覧ください」といって、点前座に向き直った。薄茶の点前がはじまった。客の黙っている。やがてお茶が点った。
「召し上がりますか」と、私は聞いた。見るだけでというので、お茶はどうかなと思って聞いてみると、「のんでもいいんだけれど、のみ方がわかんないから」と首をかしげている。私は、お茶をのんでもいいなどという人に弟子が心をこめて点てたおちゃをのんでもらわなくてもいい、「では、私がいただきますので、ご覧ください」といって、一碗を手にした。

 

